Judicial Honors – Summer 2022


Vol. 106 No. 2 (2022) | Losing faith? | Download PDF Version of Article

Judge D. Brooks Smith, a senior judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit, received the Judge Justin Johnson Award from the Pennsylvanians for Modern Courts, a civic education organization. Judge Smith was honored for his “passionate support of judicial independence” and for promoting the importance of the courts in a democracy and the dangers of politicization of the courts. Read More»

Justice Donald W. Lemons

Justice Lemons

Senior Justice Donald W. Lemons of the Virginia Supreme Court received the Judicial Council of Virginia’s Harry L. Carrico Outstanding Career Service Award. The award recognizes a judge who “has demonstrated exceptional leadership in the administration of the courts while exhibiting the traits of integrity, courtesy, impartiality, wisdom, and humility.” Read More»

Judge Lisa White Hardwick of the Missouri Court of Appeals Western District was named the 2022 Woman of the Year by Missouri Lawyer’s Media. Judge Hardwick co-chairs the Missouri Supreme Court’s Commission on Racial and Ethnic Fairness, chairs the Systemic Racism Work Group, and is a former chair of the Missouri Supreme Court’s Appellate Practice Committee. Read More» 

Judge Josey-Herring

Judge Josey-Herring

The Woman’s Bar Association of the District of Columbia named Chief Judge Anita Josey-Herring of the D.C. Superior Court as the 2022 Woman Lawyer of the Year. The first woman to lead the court, Chief Judge Josey-Herring has been an active member and committed mentor of the bar association. Read More»

Judge Brodie

Judge Brodie

Judge Lauren L. Brodie of Florida’s 20th Circuit Court was honored by the Florida Bar Association with the William M. Hoeveler Judicial Professionalism Award. Judge Brodie has devoted her career to the judiciary and to helping people who suffer from mental illness and substance abuse. She helped found the Collier County Attorney Wellness Initiative, which provides attorneys with cost-free access to psychological services, and Drug Free Collier, which partners with local organizations to protect children from substance abuse. Read More» 

The Western San Bernardino County Bar Association awarded Judge Arthur Harrison of the San Bernardino Superior Court with the 2022–23 Judicial Lifetime Achievement Award. Judge Harrison has served San Bernardino County for over 21 years as a judge in the criminal, juvenile, small claims, unlawful detainer, traffic, and family law courts. Read More»

The Jewish Bar Association of Michigan awarded senior U.S. District Judge Bernard Friedman with the 2022 Avery Cohn Lifetime Achievement Award, and Judge Michelle Friedman Appel of Michigan’s 45B District Court with the 2022 Ruth Bader Ginsburg Champion of Justice Award. Judge Appel is president of the Michigan District Judges Association. Read More» 

Chief Justice Maureen O’Connor of the Ohio Supreme Court is the 2022 recipient of the Cleveland Metropolitan Bar Association’s President’s Award. The honor recognizes those who “exemplify the highest values of our community, in law, in business and in public service.” Chief Justice O’Connor has worked to strengthen Ohio’s judicial branch through, among other things, reforms to rules governing bail, fines, and fees. She has served as president of the Conference of Chief Justices and, in 2016, led the creation of the nation’s first multistate body fighting the opioid epidemic. Read More»