Judicial Honors Vol. 107 No. 3


Vol. 107 No. 3 (2024) | Justitia | Download PDF Version of Article

Chief Justice Loretta H. Rush

Chief Justice Loretta H. Rush of the Indiana Supreme Court received the Lady Justice Award from the National Association of Women Judges (NAWJ) for her commitment to advancing the NAWJ’s core values and promoting the judicial role in protecting the rights of individuals under the rule of law. Chief Justice Rush has served on numerous boards and commissions, including as chair of the National Judicial Opioid Task Force.

North Carolina District Court Judge Ashleigh Parker and Senior Resident Superior Court Judge James Ammons were awarded the 2023 Chief Justice’s Professionalism Award by Chief Justice Paul Newby of the North Carolina Supreme Court. The award is presented to judges and legal professionals who have dedicated their time and shown commitment to the principles of professionalism and public service.

Judge Kem Thompson Frost received the 2023 Joseph Kimble Distinguished Service Award from Scribes, The American Society of Legal Writers. The award is given to an individual who has made an exceptional contribution to Scribes and its work over the years. Judge Frost is a retired chief justice of the Texas 14th Court of Appeals and a member of the inaugural class of Duke Law’s Master of Judicial Studies Program.

Judge Beth Bloom

Judge Robin Rosenberg

Judges Beth Bloom and Robin Rosenberg of the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Florida received the 2024 Distinguished Federal Judicial Service Award from the Florida Bar Association for their efforts to develop the Civil Discourse and Difficult Decisions Program, a unique educational program that promotes positive decision-making and civility and has reached thousands of students from more than 30 high schools, colleges, and law schools. (Judge Rosenberg is chair of Judicature’s editorial advisory board; read more about the Civil Discourse program in the Civic Education Spotlight here.)

Judge Igor Tuleya

Judge Igor Tuleya, a district court judge in Warsaw, Poland, received the Global Jurist of the Year Award from Northwestern Pritzker School of Law’s Center for International Human Rights. The award recognizes Judge Tuleya’s commitment to upholding human rights and the rule of law, and his dedication to holding the Polish judicial system accountable. He was one of few judges to openly critique the Polish government and legal system for prosecution practices.

Judge Maryam Ahmad

Judge Maryam Ahmad of the Circuit Court of Cook County, Illinois, was named the recipient of the 2024 Earl B. Dickerson Award. This award recognizes minority judges and lawyers whose careers emulate the courage and dedication of the late Earl B. Dickerson in making the law the key to justice in communities.

Justice Marsha Slough and Presiding Justice Lee Smalley Edmon, both members of the California Courts of Appeal, were awarded the 2023 Distinguished Service Award from the Judicial Council of California. This award recognizes extraordinary leadership and contributions to the administration of justice in California. Justice Slough has been a leading voice on key judicial branch initiatives through three consecutive terms on the Judicial Council. Presiding Justice Edom’s work has been instrumental in supporting efforts to diversify California’s judiciary and improve access to justice.

Judge Mark Juhas of the Superior Court of Los Angeles County received the 2023 Aranda Access to Justice Award for demonstrating a long-term commitment to improving and promoting fairness and access to the courts, especially for low- and moderate-income Californians. Judge Juhas has worked to expand services and access to justice in family court, helped create a program to educate and promote the practice of family law statewide, and has improved services for self-represented litigants.

Justice Patricia Breckenridge

Judge Stewart Milner, presiding judge for the Arlington Municipal Court, has been selected by the Texas Municipal Courts Association to receive its Jurist of the Year Award. The award recognizes Judge Milner for over 30 years of service in mentoring and educating municipal court staff, administering justice, and ensuring fairness to constituents.

Justice George W. Draper III

Justice Patricia Breckenridge and Justice George W. Draper III, both former chief justices of the Supreme Court of Missouri, received the 2023 Spurgeon Smithson Award for outstanding services in the effort to increase and spread justice. During her tenure as chief justice, Breckenridge established several committees and task forces to improve procedural fairness and civics education for all Missourians. During his tenure as chief, Draper led Missouri’s courts through the unprecedented challenges brought by the COVID-19 pandemic.

Oria Wilson-Iguade is a third-year student at Duke Law and a Judicature research assistant