Judicial Honors Fall/Winter 2021–22


Vol. 105 No. 3 (2021) | Leaving Afghanistan | Download PDF Version of Article

Chief Justice Michael G. Heavican of the Nebraska Supreme Court and Judge Elizabeth P. Hines (retired) of the 15th District Court in Ann Arbor, Michigan, were inducted into the National Center for State Courts’ Warren E. Burger Society. The society recognizes individuals who have used their resources to help NCSC in exceptional ways. Read More»

U.S. Magistrate Judge Louise Lamothe

U.S. Magistrate Judge Louise Lamothe of the U.S. District Court for the Central District of California received the California Women Lawyers’ Joan Dempsey Klein Distinguished Jurist Award. The award is given annually to a judge who exemplifies excellence as a jurist as well as longstanding service and inspiration to the women lawyers of California. Read More»

Judge Julia Smith Gibbons of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit is the recipient of the 2021 Edward J. Devitt Distinguished Service to Justice Award. “In addition to discharging her judicial duties, for nearly 30 years Judge Gibbons has also played a vital role in the governance and administration of the federal judiciary nationwide,” said U.S. Supreme Court Justice Neil M. Gorsuch, chair of the award’s selection committee, in a statement. Read More»

David Campbell, a senior judge of the U.S. District Court for the District of Arizona, was named the 2021 recipient of the Lewis F. Powell Jr. Award for Professionalism and Ethics by the American Inns of Court. The award recognizes attorneys, judges, government officials, journalists, and others who have rendered exemplary service in the areas of professionalism, ethics, civility, and excellence. Judge Campbell was recently appointed by Chief Justice John Roberts to the Judicial Conference Committee on International Judicial Relations. Read More»

City Court Judge Sherry Paty

City Court Judge Sherry Paty of Chattanooga, Tenn., received the 2021 Sharon G. Lee Award of Excellence. The award is named for Tennessee Supreme Court Justice Sharon Lee, who began her career as a municipal judge. Read More»

Paul B. K. Wong

Richard T. Bissen, Jr.

Hawai’i Second Circuit Chief Judge Richard T. Bissen, Jr. and First Circuit Judge Paul B. K. Wong received the state’s 2021 Jurist of the Year Award, which recognizes judiciary personnel for public service and efforts to improve court operations and programs. Read More»

Wyoming Supreme Court Justice Michael Davis received the Larry L. Lehman Award for Judicial Excellence from the Wyoming State Bar. The award honors contributions to the courts and community. Read More»

Retired Rhode Island Supreme Court Justice Gilbert V. Indeglia received the Chief Justice Joseph R. Weisberger Judicial Excellence Award from the Rhode Island Bar Association. The award honors a judge who exemplifies the highest level of competence, integrity, judicial conduct, and professionalism. Read More»

Send your Judicial Honors submissions to judicature@law.duke.edu. High-resolution (300 dpi) photos are welcome.